Suspend, Deactive and Deleting Accounts (Offboarding)

Suspend, Deactivate and Deleting Accounts (Offboarding)

There are reasons to use each of these steps. 

Suspend an Account: Suspending an account “pauses” the account. The user cannot sign in with the suspended login ID. The password does not change and the user is not removed from any connected applications. 

Deactivate an Account: This user no longer has an officially recognized affiliation with our Organization and/or has been terminated, and no longer should be able to log into Okta using this login ID. Deactivating the account will prevent the user from logging in.

Delete an Account: Once an account has been deactivated it is possible to delete the account, however, we ask that you do not delete an account. To delete an account, please send a request to help@cru.org.

Suspend an Account:

  • Click the Directory tab.
    • Click the People sub tab.
    • Search for the user's name or email.
    • Click the user's name 

    • Click the drop down list button labeled ‘More Actions’.
    • Click Suspend.

    Deactivate an Account:

    Before deactivating, we need to make changes to the groups. These steps must be taken before deactivating the account. If the steps are missed then then admin will have only read only access to the group.

    • From the user's account, click the Group tab.
      • Add the user to the Okta:Users:Offboarded Okta Group. This tells Okta to automatically remove or exclude the user from Okta Groups which were previously added.
      • Remove the user from whatever G_Suite:Users:[Region]:[Country] Okta Group they happen to be in.
      • Remove the user from Workplace:Users

    • Click the drop down list button labeled ‘More Actions’.
      • Click Deactivate. Deactivating an account prevents the user from signing in.


    Note - Once an account is suspended or deactivated it can be re-activated by clicking on the 'Activate' button. You will need to manually re-add the user to whatever Groups they were a member of before Deactivation. 

    Delete an Account:

    • Once the account has been deactivated, the Delete button will show on the page. To delete an account, please send a request to help@cru.org.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us