Activate, Deactivate, Suspend or Delete a User's Account

Activate, Deactivate, Suspend or Delete a User's Account

Activating an account is done once the account is created. After an account is created it can be deactivated, suspended or deleted. 

Activate an Account

  1. Click on the ‘Dashboard’ tab.
    1. Go to the ‘Search’ field.
    2. Enter the user’s name or email address.

  1. The user’s page will open on the screen.
    1. Click the ‘Activate’ button.

Deactivate, Delete or Suspend an Account

There are reasons to use each of these steps. 

Deactivate an Account: This user no longer has an officially recognized affiliation with our Organization and/or has been terminated, and no longer should be able to log into Okta using this login ID. Deactivating the account will prevent the user from logging in.

Delete an Account: Once an account is deactivated it is possible to delete the account, but consider renaming the login ID and leaving the account deactivated instead. Deleting an account makes it nearly impossible to find the history of the deleted user account, so deleting the account is almost never done. 

Send a message to help@checkmyokta.com if you feel an account *really should* be deleted. 

Suspend an Account: Suspending an account “pauses” the account. The user cannot sign in with the suspended login ID. The password does not change and the user is not removed from any connected applications. 

Deactivate an Account

  1. Login to the Okta Admin console with a user that has the 'Group Admin' role (or one with a higher level role or access). A user with 'Help Desk Admin' access cannot Deactivate other users, nor can they modify Okta Group membership.
    1. Click the Dashboard tab.
    2. Use the search field to search by the user’s name or email.

  1. Under the user name is a button labeled ‘More Actions’. 
    1. Click the ‘More Actions’ button. 
    2. Click “Deactivate”.Deactivating an account prevents the user from signing in.

  1. Remove the user from all Okta Groups that DO NOT include "Managed by" in the Description. (If one of the Okta Groups is an Office_365:Users... Okta Group, send an email to help@checkmyokta.com with the user's email address so that billing can be adjusted.)
    1. Click the ‘Group’ tab.
    2. Click the X to remove the group.

Reactivate a Deactivated Account

  1. Once an account is deactivated it can be re-activated.
    1. Go to the user’s page.
    2. Click the ‘Activate’ button.

        c. You will need to manually re-add the user to whatever Groups they were a member of before Deactivation.

Delete an Account

Okta accounts rarely need to be deleted, but there are unique situations where it is necessary to do so. If you find yourself in an unusual situation where you absolutely need to delete an Okta account, contact:  help@checkmyokta.com.

Suspend an Account

  1. To suspend the user’s account:
    1. Click on the ‘Dashboard’ tab.
    2. Go to the ‘Search’ field.
    3. Enter the user’s name or email address.

  1.  Under the user name is a button labeled ‘More Actions’. 
    1. Click the ‘More Actions’ button. 
    2. Click the ‘Suspend’ button.

  1. The account can later be activated or deactivated.
    1. Click the ‘Activate’ button to activate (Un-suspend) the account. Or
    2. Click the ‘Deactivate’ button to deactivate the account. 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us